Gen 1 – Chapter 14 (Part 1)

Kitty Black

We rented the arch, but everything else we managed to scrape up.

Twelve guests may seem impossibly small to some people, but that’s all we invited. We had a strict budget to adhere to, and it wasn’t as if either of us had (much) family. The only relatives of either of ours were my daughters and my brother.

I felt like a completely different person that day.

Maybe it’s because I applied my make up like a clown.

Maybe it was my hair.

I couldn’t shake the feeling that things would be immensely different after today.

Well, of course there was the wedding. I’d be married.  I’d finally be a ‘good girl.’ Still, something else was nagging at the back of my mind.

I decided that I was just nervous and letting my childhood fantasies affect my mind. When I was five, dreaming of my prince, I always imagined he would take me somewhere amazing. Because he was Prince Charming, of course he had to take me away. I came to the conclusion that I was hoping my marriage would be a stark move away from the last several years of my life.

My only wish was that my parents could see this. Or, if there is an afterlife that they can see me from, that I could see them today.

“Dad…Mom…”

“I don’t know if…you can be proud of me, after the things I’ve done.”

“But I promise, things will be better, from now on. I’m going to raise my girls to be the best they can be.”

“I’m going to make up for this…You can be proud of me, I promise.”

“Hey, Kit. All set?”

“Chris! Isn’t it bad luck to see the bride before the wedding?”

“Nah. Even if it is, I can’t help myself. You’re just so beautiful.”

“Oh Chris…”

“If you’re ready, come on out to the front room. I’ve got a surprise for you.”

I followed him, confused as to how he could continue surprising me, but he managed. When I saw it, I couldn’t say anything at first. Then I slipped over,  sat down, and let my fingers trace the keys.

I wasn’t stupendous. I wasn’t even good. I was a beginner who would remember how to play Fur Elise, among a few other simplified classics.

But Chris listened patiently to my tunes until another two-note bell chimed out.

The guests were here.

This entry was posted in Generation 1, Story and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gen 1 – Chapter 14 (Part 1)

  1. blamsart says:

    hmmm…a gut feeling, never shake off a gut feeling…Nice chapter!

Leave a Reply

