Gen 1 – Chapter 14 (Part 2)

Kitty Black

I would be lying if I said I wasn’t terrified on some level.

Having so many people around, knowing my history? Knowing the rumors, and how they affected my life just a year ago.

But my fears were completely unfounded. All of his coworkers from the hospital were having a great time.

And my old band mates were there. Pauline had gathered them together. She always had been my best friend while I was working with the theater.

All three of them…and Bernard had managed to make it out too! I bet he’d said he was going to a friend’s house. That explained the other little boy there. I loved my brother so much.

I think it was partially the girls, though, that made things so jovial.

Who could say no to their adorable faces?

As per usual, Penny was far more energized and photo ready than her sister. She just seemed to glow when she was the center of of attention.

Of course, as much as she tried to, she couldn’t steal the show entirely.

Not that I noticed, really.

I had never felt so light, and free, and wonderful. Was this the true magic of happiness?

With this ring, I thee wed…

“With this ring, I thee wed.”

I could hear the guests cheering, and looking back at the pictures I noticed how overjoyed Chris’s boss was. I’d heard he wasn’t keen on this sort of thing, but maybe that was just a front.

“Mrs. Kirsten Black,” Chris crooned to me. I couldn’t help but giggle. He was so sweet, taking my family name.

“I love you Kit.”

“I love you too, Chris.”

We topped the wedding off with raspberry cake. An absolute hit.

Everyone wanted pictures though, and that’s where I started getting almost as cranky as my tired little girls.

Well, that isn’t completely true. Lucy was somehow wide awake even while her sister was pitching an exhaustion-induced fit.

I grabbed her teddy bear to try to convince her it was time for bed while Chris got Penny dressed.

I could hear it even from the other room though. His pager going off. An emergency at the hospital. He came back in his scrubs and scooped up Lucy.

“I’ll get her ready for bed, you take care of Penny.” I planted a kiss on her head to settle her down, then swapped for Lucy.

Who now felt completely ready for bed, since Chris has cuddled her. Figures, she adored him.

Penny cooed at Chris, telling him some sort of tale only she understood.

“Night night, Penny,” he whispered.

“Nigh nigh dadee,” she crooned back. My heart fluttered with another surge of happiness.

“I’ll be back soon.”

“I know.”

“And when I get back…”

He pulled me into his arms and gave me another deep kiss.

“Have a good day, Mr. Black.”

This entry was posted in Generation 1, Story and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gen 1 – Chapter 14 (Part 2)

  1. blamsart says:

    Such a pretty chapter. The girls are so cute 😀

Leave a Reply

